Downsizing my Home, Up-sizing my Life

“As you climb the ladder of success, check occasionally that its leaning against the right wall.”

I’ve always kept a spiral notebook nearby with the intent to jot down all my brilliant ideas, inevitably when brilliant ideas are scarce, to do lists and goals are plenty. Flipping through said notebooks last week, from my early twenties, I see “millionaire by 30” scrawled across several pages. At 29 I feel as though I have reached the intent of that goal without my net income even being close to seven figures.

Twenty year old me wanted to be a millionaire, ambitious…yes, but thirty year old me wants so much more, not only financial freedom but freedom to spend my time doing what I choose and I’ve found a way to get it!

In February 2011, I built a “tiny house” using reclaimed materials, for a total $3000. This was brought on because the thought of living in an apartment complex with 300 neighbors, who would all have the same floor-plan and Pier One furnishings decorating our white walls, literally made my stomach turn.

I originally planned to live in the tiny house for a year as an experiment, but almost instantly I adapted to my new space and enjoyed the forced simplicity that living in 97 sq. ft. requires.

Around this same time I was offered an awesome job to run the social media for Danny Gray Motorcycle Seats (like em here facebook.com/DannyGraySeats) where I work constantly here and there, networking, marketing and posting but at the same time I now have mobility to be anywhere in the world.

Today is a monumental day for me, a year and a half later and approaching my thirtieth birthday I was able to move my tiny house to it’s permanent location which I bought for $5,000. I now begin the process of converting everything off grid which means I’ll never have to worry about paying rent, mortgage or utilities ever again!

No longer am I set on a number but the lifestyle I thought that number represented.

Categories: Tiny House | Tags: , , | 27 Comments

Post navigation

27 thoughts on “Downsizing my Home, Up-sizing my Life

  1. You are an impressive woman!

  2. oh dumb

    seems boring.

  3. Miranda Rice

    This honestly is inspirational. As I near my 30th birthday, I making changes as well to meet goals i made in my twenties. Keep posting, I love reading about the tiny house.

  4. I’m a huge fan.

  5. Teresa Weir

    You are truly a renaissance woman!

  6. Jonathan Hontz

    Congratulations on flinging the mortgage monkey off your back. How much land and what kind of location did you manage to find for 5K?

    • Thanks Jonathan, I bought about a quarter of an acre (10,890 sq ft) which doesn’t sound like much until you compare it with the size of my house (97 sq ft). And the fact that there’s nothing around me so it seems like I own miles of land. The location is not the beautiful that I’m accustomed to ie mountains, it’s dry and flat no doubt about it but the sunsets and expansive skies are growing on me. It’s in the middle of nowhere but a short 20 min drive to downtown Boise.

      • Jonathan Hontz

        You can grow quite a bit on 1/4 acre. I think the city lot on which my home sits is only about .21 acre, but there’s much more house on it. Still, 5K is pretty cheap, and now it’s yours. If you figure out a way to catch and store what little rainwater does hit your patch of land, you’ll be set.

  7. Congratulations, this is so inspiring. We are building a small home with cash too, not a tiny house but smaller than the American way. Living a debt -free life is so freeing.

    • Thanks Cheri and I agree, I read a interview with a business mogul who went millions of dollars in debt when the stock market crashed, and he said “you’ll never feel as rich as when you get to zero”

  8. nice work..the best decesion we ever made was selling our house and moving to a small place..we got rid of most of our stuff (which we don’t miss) and have been doing the work ourselves over the past 4 years..keep up the good work!
    It was an adjustment for us but anything worth having is worth effort and sacrifice!

    • love your domain name – Living small is nothing compared to living off grid so much respect!

      • Larry Hardenbrook

        I love that you can do this. Very amazing… I wish I had your courage and ambition to do the same. Very inspirational and I look forward to hearing more about your home and life…..

  9. I love your blog! My husband son and dog all live off the grid. We love it! We belive in no debt. We also belive in the buy a crappy car till it breaks idea. People are always yelling at me to get a new car! WHY! Its even funnier their faces when a not so freaky looking person gets out. What shes driving that. hahah and I am so using the time machine response. I love your blog.We live in a tiny house as well.
    http://tinyhomesteadfreedom.blogspot.com/

  10. This is so awesome! I am curious though….do you ever feel afraid by yourself out in the middle of nowhere?

    • Thanks Ramona, and nope haven’t ever been afraid being alone anywhere really. I’ve been thinking about doing a post on ‘unverified fears’ because I get that question a lot when people come visit – so stay tuned!

      • Ramona Powles

        Can’t wait to read that Kristie! You are so inspiring!! Thank you. :)

  11. Pingback: Downsizing my Home, Up-sizing my Life « tinyhouseontheprairie

  12. Stacie

    I agree Kristie. I am selling my sequoia and getting me a time machine. I have been planning an off grid tiny home for a few years now and it looks like this spring I will make it a go. Also, if people are looking for really cheap land there is a place called smiles4uinc that flips land. (I have no affiliation with them). But you can find many acres of dry land for a couple grand. Thought everyone may like to know about them. Keep on truckin girl…..your life sounds like the dream we all have..

  13. Hi Kristie.

    You are an amazing girl, a source of inspiration.
    I love his philosophy of simplicity.

    Greetings from Spain.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

