Hawaii Progress Continued..

Let me catch everyone up before I go into the daily logs. I left the island about 6 months ago to go back on tour for the Idaho Potato Commission. I’m back here for a couple weeks working on a lot of beautifying projects as well as getting the water and solar working smoothly.

IMG_2272.JPG

Oct 1st

Well I arrived yesterday evening in Hawaii after a solid day half in my home base Boise on completion of my second tour for the Idaho potato commission. My electrician friend Dana’s dad happened to be in town and graciously pick me up from the airport and took me to dinner in the Pahoa which might not be there in another month due to the lava flow. I listed my home my house on airbnb.com a couple months ago and I’ve started getting reservations. You may recall I had to leave Hawaii before I could hook up my water system due to a shortage of pipe.

It feels so good to be back sometimes it’s like the Hawaii treehouse is just a dream; like did I really do that?!

So six months later the place is in great shape. My old landlord, friend, mentor Greg isn’t here yet but he let me borrow his truck. My awesome neighbor Gabriel spray-painted a welcome home sign on a scrap piece of metal and tied up a beautiful flower arrangement to a couple trees at the beginning of the path. So sweet. The people at Home Depot remembered me and welcomed me back too. Then when my truck load of pipe fell 2 cars pulled over and two guys helped me put it back in and secure the load.
Today I pretty much just got situated unpacked and bought a few supplies. Ive been shown so much kindness in the last 24 hours, my heart is full.

IMG_2291.JPG

Oct 2nd

Today got off to a slow start due to me locking the keys in the truck outside my neighbors house. Hawaii doesn’t seem to of caught on to Internet and most of the locksmiths I called numbers were disconnected.
It ended up a towing company came out was very helpful how did unlocked in two seconds.
I ran to Keaau to the post office to pick up my water heater that I ordered yesterday off craigslist in Maui.
I spent the day digging out the hole where my septic goes that had been previously dug but got filled in a bit while is gone. I also got my septic pipe plumbed and painted tan to blend in with the treehouse wood.

IMG_2373.JPG

Oct 3rd

Another late morning start this time due to a dead battery (again) I was able to jump it with the car battery I’ve been temporarily using for my solar panels. I went into town for supplies. I ended up ordering a pump off of Amazon so that should be here shortly along with LED bulbs for my rope fixture that still have the vintage look I like. I also have two more solar panels on the way.

I mounted my on demand hot water heater and ran the hot water pex pipe to the shower.

I have a lot more Mosquitos than I ever did 6 months ago so I bought a battery operated patio light bug killer and screen doors for my sliders.

Oct 4th

I’ve been completing my to do lists fairly early so I think I’m going to have to start ramping them up a bit. Today I worked on running the cold water line of pex pipe to the shower and toilet. I also got the shut off valve and the toilet supply line installed as well as the vent pipe.
I still spend a bunch of time each day looking at resources online for different supplies. I’m trying to juggle my shipments and kind of waiting for them to come in to be able to complete a bunch of stuff.

IMG_2358.JPG

IMG_2353.JPG

Oct 5 & 6

I spent the 5th tinkering around spray painting the plumbing that is exposed underneath the house and such. I went over to Ted’s place to shower and do laundry which felt great being clean if only for a short time.

My potato tour coworker Ellis flew in in the evening and we all went to dinner in Pahoa again. Ellis is going to spend a couple weeks here working on the place with me.

This morning we spent a few hours running around getting some bigger ticket items like solar batteries, big piece of sheet metal. The most fun purchase of the day however was at the nursery I ordered 8 red jade vines that will crawl up the inside walls of the underneath room. I can’t wait to see those take over.

I worked on the solar system, barn bathroom door and the toilet sink all if which need more tweaking. Ellis spent the day in the mud shoveling a trench for the French drain. Welcome to paradise my friend;)

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

